Check Yo' Ponytail 2
POSTED ON Monday December 3rd, 2012

Our next CYP2 is just a day away! To help the time go by between now and then, check out the latest addition to our CYP2 mixtape series. This time around we asked L.A. producer and Friends of Friends artist, Groundislava, to put together a mix resulting in 30 minutes of slightly sensual, slightly funked out selections. From Boards of Canada to Simian Mobile Disco to Trey Songz, Groundislava flawlessly strings them all together, peppering some non-album originals into the mix as he goes.

Groundislava will be performing at CYP2 tomorrow, December 4th, at the Echoplex. How To Dress Well, Born Gold, Beacon, Bago, and Ille will be performing as well. So dress warm and come join us for tomorrow’s sure to be special evening. In the meantime, grab a pair of headphones and vibe out to the Groundislava mix below.

Tickets are available HERE.

1. Boards of Canada: Bocuma
2. Simian Mobile Disco: Seraphim
3. Groundislava: Jasper’s Song II
4. Trey Songz: Can’t Help But Wait
5. The Tuss: Shiz Ko E
6. Boards of Canada: Pete Standing Alone
7. Groundislava: Untitled Rough Demo
8. Groundislava: Final Impasse (Version 2)
9. Bigbang: Bad Boy
10. Groundislava: Night


POSTED ON Monday February 6th, 2012

With Valentine’s day just around the corner, Com Truise surprised us with a little bit of computer love by way of a new exclusive mixtape just for you. This latest addition is a meandering wash of retro-futuristic selections, infused with kraut rhythms and hints of new wave that are seamlessly sewn into his own discography. These shimmering synth cuts combined with Com’s slow motion funk create a spacial, nostalgic experience that remains sensual and endearing while searching for synthetic warmth in the vast and open digital realm.

Com Truise will be performing at Check Yo Ponytail tomorrow, February 7th. Joining him will be CYP2 alumini Teengirl Fantasy, as well as Soft Metals and Green Horse. Tickets are available here.


1. VHS 1
2. Wutendes Glas
3. VHS 2
4. Advisory Circle – Sundial
5. Boards of Canada – Iced Cooly
6. New Order – This Time Of Night (Live)
7. Skinny Boys – Unity
8. Harry Forbes – Technicality No. 3
9. Andy Clark – Fat Cats
10. Das Kabinette – Fudge It
11. The Fashion – Future Girl (Instrumental)
12. Dave Jackson – Mini Logos 4
13. Jeff Newmann – Future Design
14. International Music System – Dancing Therapy
15. Com Truise – A DAT 2
16. Com Truise – A DAT 3
17. Steve Everitt – Breakdance
18. Luis Jardim – Soul Train
19. Com Truise – I dream (For you)
20. Mark J. Cairns – Airwolf Theme